Insights.

Discover cybersecurity stories you've never heard before. From ransomware threat to data analytics with organisational insights, this is where cyber enhances business.

Science shows that the method that almost all companies adopt to solve 70% of cybersecurity problems is NOT the right one.

Science shows that the method that almost all companies adopt to solve 70% of cybersecurity problems is NOT the right one.

This should concern us. But rest assured: nothing will change. Because this isn't cryptography or any other sexy topic in the field (EDR, blockchain security, crypto post-quantum, you name it). The cybersecurity market has already chosen a completely different direction. What is it about? Researchers at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETHZ) have just demonstrated that phishing test practices, those commonly found in companies, are the exact opposite of what should be done…

The widest mobilization is the only viable and sustainable lever to counter cyberattacks

The widest mobilization is the only viable and sustainable lever to counter cyberattacks

Our collective vision of cyber, as much among non-specialists as among experts and leaders, needs to be re-examined in depth. To maximize the effectiveness of our individual interventions and our collective protection. Because the attackers' ecosystem is evolving much faster than the defenders'. The collective efficiency of attackers is formidable. The ecosystem is industrializing. Cybercriminals think "customer" much more effectively than defenders when it comes to cyber issues. And they are…

The cold rationality of attackers versus the operational unpreparedness of companies

The cold rationality of attackers versus the operational unpreparedness of companies

For the cyber attacker, the only thing that matters is his own goal: to complete the attack. For a cybercriminal: to obtain the payment of the ransom, even if it means negotiating. Because the cost structure of the attacker is just like the business model of SaaS startups: the cost of attacking an additional company is close to zero. Worse: the attacker's operational risk is very limited, protected by several jurisdictions and many layers of technology between his target and his digital…

Financial evaluation of cybersecurity remains a path not very frequented

Financial evaluation of cybersecurity remains a path not very frequented

One explanation: for many organizations and cybersecurity professionals, the study of the return on investment (ROI) of cybersecurity remains complex. It's often taboo for the current generation of CISOs, who still rarely have the codes of the financial domain. Moreover, while current cyber methods are very good at assessing risks at the level of an application or IS project, they do not easily pass the test of a group scale. How many companies have evaluated the ROI of their cyber? There is no…

Cybersecurity: designed to fail.

Cybersecurity: designed to fail.

Over the past three years, the acceleration of ransomware damage has generated an awareness of cyber issues. Yet, in this cyber domain, the majority of companies of all sizes remain "designed to fail" and citizens are disarmed. There is still time to start a cyber revolution. It is indispensable . Awareness is growing, but the cyber debt is inexorably increasing. In large companies, the awareness of leaders is accelerating. This is evidenced by reports from the World Economic Forum (WEF) and…

Misconception n°3: The digital transformation director can't do much about cybersecurity

Misconception n°3: The digital transformation director can't do much about cybersecurity

Why is this misconsception false? Paradoxically, the CDO is probably one of the only executives, if not the only one after the CEO, who can do something decisive on cyber / digital security . The CISO, when restricted to a technical perimeter, will not be able to carry this vision to this strategic level. Because many CISOs still depend on a CIO or a CTO. Their background is rarely business and without a sufficient dose of digital. Too rarely, they allow themselves (or are allowed to) think…

Misconception n°2: Digital transformation is a separate matter from cybersecurity

Misconception n°2: Digital transformation is a separate matter from cybersecurity

Why is this misconsception false? In October 2016, Microsoft¹ identified 4 pillars : for digital transformation, which held as its definition: 1/ Engage customers: give them new experiences they will love, 2/ Empower employees: reinvent productivity and enable a data-centric culture. 3/ Minimize operations: modernize portfolios, transform processes and skills 4/ Transform products: innovate on products and business models. If these 4 pillars are not directly applied to cybersecurity, the…

Misconception n°1: Using modern/nextgen technology makes you safer

Misconception n°1: Using modern/nextgen technology makes you safer

Why is this misconsception false? In January 2019, Accenture showed that 79% of digital transformation projects did not include cybersecurity at the right level. Since then, the Covid situation and its accelerated transformations, have largely exacerbated the phenomenon. Unless adopted correctly, cloud architectures, containerization (docker and kubernetes), the extended use of open-source libraries such as npm packages, or APIs (even in GraphQL), and microservices, without forgetting AI and…

Strengthening enterprise cybersecurity through people

Strengthening enterprise cybersecurity through people

Aware of the chaotic scope of cyber attacks and the weakness of their cybersecurity, managers no longer hesitate to make substantial financial efforts and recruit excellent experts to protect themselves against them. But in this quest for resilience, they tend to neglect the crucial role of the first actors in the field of cybersecurity: the employees. Cyber attacks: the undeniable weight of human failures With the widespread use of cutting-edge technologies (AI, 5G , robotics, etc.) and the…

Insights.

Découvrez des récits de cybersécurité que vous ne trouverez nulle par ailleurs. Des menaces de type rançongiciels à l’analyse des données cyber, en passant par les insights sur l’organisation, c’est ici que la cybersécurité améliore l’entreprise.

La science démontre que la méthode que toutes les entreprises - ou presque - adoptent pour régler 70% des problèmes de cybersécurité n’est PAS la bonne.

La science démontre que la méthode que toutes les entreprises - ou presque - adoptent pour régler 70% des problèmes de cybersécurité n’est PAS la bonne.

Cela devrait nous interpeller. Mais rassurez-vous : rien ne va changer. Car ce n'est pas de la cryptographie ou un autre sujet sexy du domaine (EDR, sécurité de la blockchain, crypto post quantique, you name it). Le marché de la cybersécurité a déjà choisi une toute autre direction. De quoi s'agit-il ? Des chercheurs de l'Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Zurich (ETHZ) viennent de démontrer que les pratiques en matière de tests de phishing, celles que l'on trouve couramment en entreprise, c'est…

La mobilisation la plus large est le seul levier viable et pérenne pour contrer les cyberattaques

La mobilisation la plus large est le seul levier viable et pérenne pour contrer les cyberattaques

Notre vision collective de la cyber, autant chez les non-spécialistes que chez les experts et les dirigeants, est à réexaminer en profondeur. Pour maximiser l'efficacité de nos interventions individuelles et notre protection collective. Car l'écosystème des attaquants évolue beaucoup plus vite que celui des défenseurs. L'efficacité collective des attaquants est redoutable. L’écosystème s’industrialise. Sur leurs enjeux cyber, les cybercriminels pensent “client” beaucoup plus efficacement que les…

La rationalité froide des attaquants face à l’impréparation opérationnelle des entreprises

La rationalité froide des attaquants face à l’impréparation opérationnelle des entreprises

Pour le cyber attaquant, seule compte sa propre finalité : mener à son terme l’attaque. Pour un cybercriminel : obtenir le paiement de la rançon, quitte à négocier. Car la structure de coût de l’attaquant est à l’image du modèle économique des startups SaaS : le coût d’attaque d’une entreprise supplémentaire se rapproche de zéro. Pire : le risque opérationnel de l’attaquant est très limité, protégé par plusieurs jurisdictions et de nombreuses couches technologiques entre sa cible et son “repère…

L’évaluation financière de la cybersécurité reste un chemin peu fréquenté

L’évaluation financière de la cybersécurité reste un chemin peu fréquenté

L’une des explications : pour de très nombreuses organisations et professionnels de la cybersécurité, l’étude de la rentabilité des investissements (ROI) de la cybersécurité reste complexe. Ce sujet est même souvent tabou pour la génération actuelle des CISO, qui disposent encore rarement des codes du domaine financier. De plus, si les méthodes courantes en cyber permettent très bien d’apprécier les risques au niveau d’un applicatif ou d’un projet SI, elles passent difficilement l’épreuve de l…

Cybersécurité : designed to fail.

Cybersécurité : designed to fail.

Ces trois dernières années, l'accélération des dégâts des rançongiciels a généré une prise de conscience des enjeux cyber. Pourtant, dans ce domaine cyber, la majorité des entreprises de toute taille restent « designed to fail » et les citoyens sont désarmés. Il est encore temps d’engager une révolution cyber. Elle est indispensable . La prise de conscience est croissante, mais la dette cyber augmente inexorablement. Dans les grandes entreprises, la prise de conscience des dirigeants est…

Idée reçue n°3 : Le directeur transformation digitale ne peut pas faire grand-chose sur la cybersécurité

Idée reçue n°3 : Le directeur transformation digitale ne peut pas faire grand-chose sur la cybersécurité

Pourquoi cette idée reçue est-elle fausse ? Paradoxalement, le CDO est probablement l’un des seuls dirigeants, si ce n’est le seul après le CEO, à même de faire quelque chose de décisif sur la cyber / sécurité digitale . Le CISO, quand il est restreint à un périmètre technique, ne sera pas en mesure de porter cette vision à ce niveau stratégique. Car beaucoup de CISO dépendent toujours d’un DSI ou d’un CTO. Leur background est rarement business et sans une dose suffisante de digital. Trop…

Idée reçue n°2 : La transformation digitale est une affaire distincte de la cybersécurité

Idée reçue n°2 : La transformation digitale est une affaire distincte de la cybersécurité

Pourquoi cette idée reçue est-elle fausse ? En octobre 2016, Microsoft¹ a identifié 4 piliers : pour la transformation digitale, ce qui lui a tenu lieu de définition : 1/ Engager les clients : leur donner de nouvelles expériences qu’ils vont adorer, 2/ Habiliter les employés : réinventer la productivité et permettre une culture centrée data, 3/ Minimiser les opérations : moderniser les portefeuilles, transformer les processus et les compétences, 4/ Transformer les produits : innover sur les…

Idée reçue n°1 : En utilisant des technologies modernes/nextgen, on est plus en sécurité

Idée reçue n°1 : En utilisant des technologies modernes/nextgen, on est plus en sécurité

Pourquoi cette idée reçue est-elle fausse ? En janvier 2019, Accenture a montré que 79% des projets de transformation digitale n’incluaient pas la cybersécurité au bon niveau. Depuis, la situation Covid et ses transformations accélérées, ont largement aggravé le phénomène. À moins d’être adoptées correctement, les architectures cloud, la conteneurisation (docker et kubernetes), l’usage élargi de librairies open-source telles que les packages npm, ou encore les API (même en GraphQL), et les…

Renforcer la cybersécurité en entreprise par l’humain

Renforcer la cybersécurité en entreprise par l’humain

Conscients de la portée chaotique des cyberattaques et la faiblesse de leur cybersécurité, les dirigeants n’hésitent plus à fournir des efforts financiers conséquents et à recruter d’excellents experts pour s’en prémunir. Mais dans cette quête de résilience, ils ont toutefois tendance à négliger le rôle crucial des premiers acteurs de terrain de la cybersécurité : les collaborateurs. Cyberattaques : le poids incontestable des défaillances humaines Avec la généralisation des technologies de…